Field of research: International Macroeconomics

Julián P. Díaz

Julián P. Díaz is an Assistant Professor in the Economics Department, Quinlan School of Business, Loyola University Chicago. He holds a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Minnesota. His research interests are in the fields of international trade and international macroeconomics, focusing on the effects of trade and financial liberalization in the transition economies of Central and Eastern Europe that joined the European Union in 2004 and 2007. He has been a Visiting Researcher at the Stockholm Institute of Transition Economics (SITE) in 2014, 2015 and 2017.

Elina Ribakova

Elina Ribakova is currently Vice President for Foreign Policy at the Kyiv School of Economics. She is also a nonresident senior fellow at the Peterson Institute for International Economics and a nonresident fellow at Bruegel.

Her research focuses on global markets, economic statecraft, and economic sovereignty. She has been a senior adjunct fellow at the Center for a New American Security (2020–23) and a research fellow at the London School of Economics (2015–17).

Ribakova has over 25 years of experience with financial markets and research. She has held several senior level roles, including deputy chief economist at the Institute of International Finance in Washington, managing director and head of Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA) Research at Deutsche Bank in London, leadership positions at Amundi (Pioneer) Asset Management, and director and chief economist for Russia and the Commonwealth for Independent States (CIS) at Citigroup. Prior to that, Ribakova was an economist at the International Monetary Fund in Washington (1999–2008) working on financial stability, macroeconomic policy design for commodity-exporting countries, and fiscal policy.

Ribakova holds a master of science degree in Economics from the University of Warwick (1999), where she was awarded the Shiv Nath prize for outstanding academic performance, and a master of science degree in data science from the University of Virginia (May 2023).

(Last updated March 2024)